Jay Winik

« Page 1 from 1, showing 1 - 3 from 3 »

Jay Winik

Few generals were as brilliant as Robert E. Lee and few battles as titanic -- and puzzling -- as Gettysburg. Why did Lee fail? In Lost Triumph, Tom Carhart offers a bold and provocative new assessment. Agree or disagree, it is sure to stimulate debate among even the most seasoned Civil War buffs.More Jay Winik [03/29/2018 05:03:36]
Why did John Wilkes Booth do it? In My Thoughts Be Bloody young historian Nora Titone is one of the few to have genuinely explored this question. In doing so, she has crafted a fascinating psychological drama about one of the central events of the Civil War: the assassination of Abraham Lincoln. This book promises to stimulate lively historical debate, and will be a treat for every Civil War buff who always pondered that haunting question, “what made him pull that trigger?” Bravo on a marvelous achievement.More Jay Winik [03/29/2018 05:03:36]
In the tradition of Black Hawk Down, Malcolm MacPherson vividly brings to life this harrowing story of courage, pathos, and war at its grittiest. For military history buffs, or those interested in the front lines of the war on terror, Roberts Ridge is a must read.More Jay Winik [03/29/2018 05:03:36]

« Page 1 from 1, showing 1 - 3 from 3 »

Quotes of the month

Ugo Foscolo The foolish and ugly habits are the corruptions of our nature. [10/03/2020 12:10:52] More


Eugene Ryabyi The path to the wolf's heart goes through the dark forest. [10/11/2020 10:10:49] More


Ugo Foscolo I don't hate a person in the world, but there are certain men that I need to see only from a distance [10/03/2020 12:10:56] More


Segrey Burunov Money changes people. Power and money, even small ones. And big money - instantly! [10/07/2020 04:10:46] More


Jan Sikorevich If you keep a person on a chain for a long time, he will begin to think that he is being treated like a dog. [10/14/2020 04:10:48] More