Salman Rushdie

Salman Rushdie

a British writer of Indian origin
Ahmed Salman Rushdie, the noted British novelist placed under a fatwa (death sentence) by Iran's Ayatollah Khomeini in 1989 for blasphemy in handling the character of the Prophet Mohammed in The Satanic Verses (1988), although born in Mumbai (Bombay, India) in 1947, moved with his family to Pakistan at the age of 17. He was educated at the Cathedral School, Bombay, and then at Rugby Boys' School, England, before attending King's College, Cambridge, from which he graduated with a B. A. in 1968. During his years of schooling in England, he experienced minor persecution and racist attacks. However, upon graduation he chose to remain in Britain, working as an actor and advertising copywriter before becoming a full-time writer, producing his first novel, Grimus, in 1975, in the tradition of James Joyce, Gunter Grass, and the South American "Magic Realists."Although he won a certain celebrity with his second novel, the Booker prize-winning Midnight's Children (1981), an historical novel set at the moment that India and Pakistan achieved independence from Great Britain, it was the controversial Satanic Verses that made his name a household word. Its banning in India and throughout the Muslim world led to widespread demonstrations during which copies of the novel (and effigies of the author) were burned. Rushdie was forced into hiding, moving from one safehouse to another with the assistance of the British authorities and police until 1998, when Iran officially lifted the fatwa. The individual pieces in East, West Stories (1994), including the critically-celebrated, multi-voiced "CHRISTOPHER COLUMBUS AND QUEEN ISABELLA OF SPAIN CONSUMMATE THEIR RELATIONSHIP (Santa Fe, A. D. 1492)," first published in the prestigious New Yorker Magazine. Dating from the same period are his children's book, Haroun and the Sea of Stories (1990), his book of essays, Imaginary Homelands (1991), and the novel The Moor's Last Sigh (1995).Source: scholars.nus.edu.sg
Actually, I don't even like parties. I would much prefer a room with four friends who sit around and have dinner. I detest nightclubs. And I don't like places where the noise is so loud you can't talk to people.More Salman Rushdie quotes [03/29/2018 05:03:36]
A novel, I think, is partly about the contemporary and partly about the eternal, and it's the balance of that that's difficult to achieve.More Salman Rushdie quotes [03/29/2018 05:03:36]
The only privilege literature deserves -- and this privilege it requires in order to exist -- is the privilege of being in the arena of discourse, the place where the struggle of our languages can be acted out.More Salman Rushdie quotes [01/01/2000 12:01:00]
So India’s problem turns out to be the world’s problem. What happened in India has happened in God’s name. The problem’s name is God.More Salman Rushdie quotes [03/29/2018 05:03:36]
Doubt, it seems to me, is the central condition of a human being in the twentieth century.More Salman Rushdie quotes [03/29/2018 05:03:36]

Quotes of the month

Eugene Ryabyi Do not spend yourself on those who have nothing to spend on you. [08/15/2019 11:08:57] More


Anatoly Yurkin None of us, operators of repetitions, is not mistaken and is not alienated to the extreme exhaustion. [08/17/2019 02:08:18] More


Anatoly Yurkin Cost of doing business as the rapidly growing grass, of service require a lawn mower repeatability. [07/29/2019 10:07:13] More


Anatoly Yurkin Repeatability is the trail left by the exclusion. [08/03/2019 03:08:47] More


Anatoly Yurkin Scaling business gives all year round digital prosperity. [08/14/2019 08:08:36] More