Salman Rushdie

Salman Rushdie

a British writer of Indian origin
Ahmed Salman Rushdie, the noted British novelist placed under a fatwa (death sentence) by Iran's Ayatollah Khomeini in 1989 for blasphemy in handling the character of the Prophet Mohammed in The Satanic Verses (1988), although born in Mumbai (Bombay, India) in 1947, moved with his family to Pakistan at the age of 17. He was educated at the Cathedral School, Bombay, and then at Rugby Boys' School, England, before attending King's College, Cambridge, from which he graduated with a B. A. in 1968. During his years of schooling in England, he experienced minor persecution and racist attacks. However, upon graduation he chose to remain in Britain, working as an actor and advertising copywriter before becoming a full-time writer, producing his first novel, Grimus, in 1975, in the tradition of James Joyce, Gunter Grass, and the South American "Magic Realists."Although he won a certain celebrity with his second novel, the Booker prize-winning Midnight's Children (1981), an historical novel set at the moment that India and Pakistan achieved independence from Great Britain, it was the controversial Satanic Verses that made his name a household word. Its banning in India and throughout the Muslim world led to widespread demonstrations during which copies of the novel (and effigies of the author) were burned. Rushdie was forced into hiding, moving from one safehouse to another with the assistance of the British authorities and police until 1998, when Iran officially lifted the fatwa. The individual pieces in East, West Stories (1994), including the critically-celebrated, multi-voiced "CHRISTOPHER COLUMBUS AND QUEEN ISABELLA OF SPAIN CONSUMMATE THEIR RELATIONSHIP (Santa Fe, A. D. 1492)," first published in the prestigious New Yorker Magazine. Dating from the same period are his children's book, Haroun and the Sea of Stories (1990), his book of essays, Imaginary Homelands (1991), and the novel The Moor's Last Sigh (1995).Source: scholars.nus.edu.sg
The field of the novel is very rich. If you're a composer, you're well aware of the history of composition, and you are trying to make your music part of that history. You're not ahistorical. In the same way, I think, if you write now, you are writing in the historical context of what the novel has been and what possibilities it has revealed.More Salman Rushdie quotes [03/29/2018 05:03:36]
Good advice is rarer than rubies.More Salman Rushdie quotes [03/29/2018 05:03:36]
Things, even people have a way of leaking into each other like flavours when you cook.More Salman Rushdie quotes [03/29/2018 05:03:36]
The only thing worse than a bad review from the Ayatollah Khomeini would be a good review from the Ayatollah Khomeini.More Salman Rushdie quotes [03/29/2018 05:03:36]
I am certainly not a good Muslim. But I am able now to say that I am Muslim; in fact it is a source of happiness to say that I am now inside, and a part of the community whose values have always been closest to my heart.More Salman Rushdie quotes [03/29/2018 05:03:36]

Quotes of the month

Dina Rubina God forbid knowing all the details of our lives. [09/03/2020 01:09:55] More


Robert Escarpit Faith in God is the most convenient and reliable. [09/01/2020 02:09:48] More


Dina Rubina An addiction to sorting things out is one of the grave vices of the Russian intelligentsia. [09/03/2020 01:09:35] More


Vladimir Mirzoev In a man, gentleness is also important. [09/03/2020 12:09:29] More


Ann Coulter As the leader of twelve apostles, even Jesus had more executive experience than Obama. [08/31/2020 12:08:38] More