Salman Rushdie

Salman Rushdie

a British writer of Indian origin
Ahmed Salman Rushdie, the noted British novelist placed under a fatwa (death sentence) by Iran's Ayatollah Khomeini in 1989 for blasphemy in handling the character of the Prophet Mohammed in The Satanic Verses (1988), although born in Mumbai (Bombay, India) in 1947, moved with his family to Pakistan at the age of 17. He was educated at the Cathedral School, Bombay, and then at Rugby Boys' School, England, before attending King's College, Cambridge, from which he graduated with a B. A. in 1968. During his years of schooling in England, he experienced minor persecution and racist attacks. However, upon graduation he chose to remain in Britain, working as an actor and advertising copywriter before becoming a full-time writer, producing his first novel, Grimus, in 1975, in the tradition of James Joyce, Gunter Grass, and the South American "Magic Realists."Although he won a certain celebrity with his second novel, the Booker prize-winning Midnight's Children (1981), an historical novel set at the moment that India and Pakistan achieved independence from Great Britain, it was the controversial Satanic Verses that made his name a household word. Its banning in India and throughout the Muslim world led to widespread demonstrations during which copies of the novel (and effigies of the author) were burned. Rushdie was forced into hiding, moving from one safehouse to another with the assistance of the British authorities and police until 1998, when Iran officially lifted the fatwa. The individual pieces in East, West Stories (1994), including the critically-celebrated, multi-voiced "CHRISTOPHER COLUMBUS AND QUEEN ISABELLA OF SPAIN CONSUMMATE THEIR RELATIONSHIP (Santa Fe, A. D. 1492)," first published in the prestigious New Yorker Magazine. Dating from the same period are his children's book, Haroun and the Sea of Stories (1990), his book of essays, Imaginary Homelands (1991), and the novel The Moor's Last Sigh (1995).Source: scholars.nus.edu.sg
The real risks for any artist are taken in pushing the work to the limits of what is possible, in the attempt to increase the sum of what it is possible to think. Books become good when they go to this edge and risk falling over it --when they endanger the artist by reason of what he has, or has not, artistically dared.More Salman Rushdie quotes [01/01/2000 12:01:00]
If I were asked for a one-sentence sound bite on religion, I would say I was against it.More Salman Rushdie quotes [03/29/2018 05:03:36]
Writers have an opinion about the world and offer arguments about the world. They should offer contemplation.More Salman Rushdie quotes [03/29/2018 05:03:36]
In spite of all evidence that life is discontinuous, a valley of rifts, and that random chance plays a great part in our fates, we go on believing in the continuity of things, in causation and meaning. But we live on a broken mirror, and fresh cracks appear in its surface every day.More Salman Rushdie quotes [03/29/2018 05:03:36]
It is often said by religious people that without its framework, there is no sense of right or wrong. My view is that religion comes after ethics.More Salman Rushdie quotes [03/29/2018 05:03:36]

Quotes of the month

Anatoly Yurkin The space of thought is filled with property, and lives according to the laws of alienation. (Anatoly Yurkin) [12/11/2019 02:12:11] More


Anatoly Yurkin To own the Me, you need to be overlaid with bulletproof vests definitions. (Anatoly Yurkin) [11/30/2019 05:11:01] More


Author Unknown "Only to the one who consciously sacrifices his mind God reveals the secrets of the universe." [12/01/2019 01:12:06] More


Anatoly Yurkin Alienation is the uncontested debut of the thinker. (Anatoly Yurkin) [12/07/2019 04:12:58] More


Anatoly Yurkin Alienation is the access of thought to being. (Anatoly Yurkin) [12/02/2019 05:12:14] More