Salman Rushdie

Salman Rushdie

a British writer of Indian origin
Ahmed Salman Rushdie, the noted British novelist placed under a fatwa (death sentence) by Iran's Ayatollah Khomeini in 1989 for blasphemy in handling the character of the Prophet Mohammed in The Satanic Verses (1988), although born in Mumbai (Bombay, India) in 1947, moved with his family to Pakistan at the age of 17. He was educated at the Cathedral School, Bombay, and then at Rugby Boys' School, England, before attending King's College, Cambridge, from which he graduated with a B. A. in 1968. During his years of schooling in England, he experienced minor persecution and racist attacks. However, upon graduation he chose to remain in Britain, working as an actor and advertising copywriter before becoming a full-time writer, producing his first novel, Grimus, in 1975, in the tradition of James Joyce, Gunter Grass, and the South American "Magic Realists."Although he won a certain celebrity with his second novel, the Booker prize-winning Midnight's Children (1981), an historical novel set at the moment that India and Pakistan achieved independence from Great Britain, it was the controversial Satanic Verses that made his name a household word. Its banning in India and throughout the Muslim world led to widespread demonstrations during which copies of the novel (and effigies of the author) were burned. Rushdie was forced into hiding, moving from one safehouse to another with the assistance of the British authorities and police until 1998, when Iran officially lifted the fatwa. The individual pieces in East, West Stories (1994), including the critically-celebrated, multi-voiced "CHRISTOPHER COLUMBUS AND QUEEN ISABELLA OF SPAIN CONSUMMATE THEIR RELATIONSHIP (Santa Fe, A. D. 1492)," first published in the prestigious New Yorker Magazine. Dating from the same period are his children's book, Haroun and the Sea of Stories (1990), his book of essays, Imaginary Homelands (1991), and the novel The Moor's Last Sigh (1995).Source: scholars.nus.edu.sg
When I'm writing a book, sentence by sentence, I'm not thinking theoretically. I'm just trying to work out the story from inside the characters I've got.More Salman Rushdie quotes [03/29/2018 05:03:36]
Nobody wants to read a 600 page book in which the author is fabulous throughout.More Salman Rushdie quotes [03/29/2018 05:03:36]
I would argue that religion comes from a desire to get to the questions of, 'Where do we come from?' and 'How shall we live?' And I would say I don't need religion to answer those questions.More Salman Rushdie quotes [03/29/2018 05:03:36]
Raif Badawi's is an important voice for all of us to hear.More Salman Rushdie quotes [03/29/2018 05:03:36]
We are the storytelling animal.More Salman Rushdie quotes [03/29/2018 05:03:36]

Quotes of the month

Sergey Bachin Sport and nutrition can defeat any disease. [10/03/2018 03:10:01] More


Anatoly Yurkin The egoism of the electronic persona will help the analog TV viewer to settle inside VR, where the greedy breath of the user of scalable money will increase digital prosperity. [10/12/2018 12:10:39] More


Anatoly Yurkin The numbers direct the action on stage, if behind the scenes the playwright at least partially understands Big Data. [10/19/2018 12:10:56] More


Anatoly Yurkin It is dangerous to claim success to an Amateur who does not know, and why do successful people need time? [10/13/2018 01:10:32] More


Eugene Ryabyi Man's life is the fall of a raindrop in the river of oblivion. [10/13/2018 06:10:41] More