Salman Rushdie

Salman Rushdie

a British writer of Indian origin
Ahmed Salman Rushdie, the noted British novelist placed under a fatwa (death sentence) by Iran's Ayatollah Khomeini in 1989 for blasphemy in handling the character of the Prophet Mohammed in The Satanic Verses (1988), although born in Mumbai (Bombay, India) in 1947, moved with his family to Pakistan at the age of 17. He was educated at the Cathedral School, Bombay, and then at Rugby Boys' School, England, before attending King's College, Cambridge, from which he graduated with a B. A. in 1968. During his years of schooling in England, he experienced minor persecution and racist attacks. However, upon graduation he chose to remain in Britain, working as an actor and advertising copywriter before becoming a full-time writer, producing his first novel, Grimus, in 1975, in the tradition of James Joyce, Gunter Grass, and the South American "Magic Realists."Although he won a certain celebrity with his second novel, the Booker prize-winning Midnight's Children (1981), an historical novel set at the moment that India and Pakistan achieved independence from Great Britain, it was the controversial Satanic Verses that made his name a household word. Its banning in India and throughout the Muslim world led to widespread demonstrations during which copies of the novel (and effigies of the author) were burned. Rushdie was forced into hiding, moving from one safehouse to another with the assistance of the British authorities and police until 1998, when Iran officially lifted the fatwa. The individual pieces in East, West Stories (1994), including the critically-celebrated, multi-voiced "CHRISTOPHER COLUMBUS AND QUEEN ISABELLA OF SPAIN CONSUMMATE THEIR RELATIONSHIP (Santa Fe, A. D. 1492)," first published in the prestigious New Yorker Magazine. Dating from the same period are his children's book, Haroun and the Sea of Stories (1990), his book of essays, Imaginary Homelands (1991), and the novel The Moor's Last Sigh (1995).Source: scholars.nus.edu.sg
I used to write a monthly column for the 'New York Times' syndicate. But I stopped because I found it really hard to have one extreme opinion a month. I don't know how these columnists have two or three ideas a week; I was having difficulty having 12 things to say a year.More Salman Rushdie quotes [03/29/2018 05:03:36]
I am gagged and imprisoned. I can't even speak. I want to kick a football in a park with my son. Ordinary, banal life: my impossible dream.More Salman Rushdie quotes [03/29/2018 05:03:36]
The miniatures of the Mughal period are really the pinnacle of Indian artistic achievement. And not a single one of those paintings is done by an individual artist.More Salman Rushdie quotes [03/29/2018 05:03:36]
Acting was always my unscratched itch, when I was in college and even afterwards.More Salman Rushdie quotes [03/29/2018 05:03:36]
The idea of the sacred is quite simply one of the most conservative notions in any culture, because it seeks to turn other ideas -- uncertainty, progress, change -- into crimes.More Salman Rushdie quotes [01/01/2000 12:01:00]

Quotes of the month

Anatoly Yurkin Behind the scenes of creativity is to have the courage to make a new mistake instead of correcting the previous one. (Anatoly Yurkin) [03/05/2020 12:03:57] More


Anatoly Yurkin Being is the multiplication of alienation. (Anatoly Yurkin) [03/19/2020 11:03:19] More


Anatoly Yurkin Isolation is not an exclusion. (Anatoly Yurkin) [03/26/2020 02:03:52] More


Anatoly Yurkin Alienation is a ritual and / or other ceremony to achieve a state of being. (Anatoly Yurkin) (Anatoly Yurkin) [03/17/2020 02:03:21] More


Anatoly Yurkin Alienation is a search query for being. (Anatoly Yurkin) [03/25/2020 02:03:48] More