Salman Rushdie

Salman Rushdie

a British writer of Indian origin
Ahmed Salman Rushdie, the noted British novelist placed under a fatwa (death sentence) by Iran's Ayatollah Khomeini in 1989 for blasphemy in handling the character of the Prophet Mohammed in The Satanic Verses (1988), although born in Mumbai (Bombay, India) in 1947, moved with his family to Pakistan at the age of 17. He was educated at the Cathedral School, Bombay, and then at Rugby Boys' School, England, before attending King's College, Cambridge, from which he graduated with a B. A. in 1968. During his years of schooling in England, he experienced minor persecution and racist attacks. However, upon graduation he chose to remain in Britain, working as an actor and advertising copywriter before becoming a full-time writer, producing his first novel, Grimus, in 1975, in the tradition of James Joyce, Gunter Grass, and the South American "Magic Realists."Although he won a certain celebrity with his second novel, the Booker prize-winning Midnight's Children (1981), an historical novel set at the moment that India and Pakistan achieved independence from Great Britain, it was the controversial Satanic Verses that made his name a household word. Its banning in India and throughout the Muslim world led to widespread demonstrations during which copies of the novel (and effigies of the author) were burned. Rushdie was forced into hiding, moving from one safehouse to another with the assistance of the British authorities and police until 1998, when Iran officially lifted the fatwa. The individual pieces in East, West Stories (1994), including the critically-celebrated, multi-voiced "CHRISTOPHER COLUMBUS AND QUEEN ISABELLA OF SPAIN CONSUMMATE THEIR RELATIONSHIP (Santa Fe, A. D. 1492)," first published in the prestigious New Yorker Magazine. Dating from the same period are his children's book, Haroun and the Sea of Stories (1990), his book of essays, Imaginary Homelands (1991), and the novel The Moor's Last Sigh (1995).Source: scholars.nus.edu.sg
Sometimes when you finish a book, you don't know quite what you've got.More Salman Rushdie quotes [03/29/2018 05:03:36]
I do think there was a period there when my sanity was under intense pressure, and I didn't know what to say or do or how to act. I was literally living from day to day.More Salman Rushdie quotes [03/29/2018 05:03:36]
Shame is like everything else; live with it for long enough and it becomes part of the furniture.More Salman Rushdie quotes [03/29/2018 05:03:36]
Having been borne across the world, we are translated men. It is normally supposed that something always gets lost in translation; I cling, obstinately, to the notion that something can also be gained.More Salman Rushdie quotes [03/29/2018 05:03:36]
One of the things I've thought about 'Midnight's Children' is that it is a novel which puts a Muslim family at the centre of the Indian experience.More Salman Rushdie quotes [03/29/2018 05:03:36]

Quotes of the month

Eugene Ryabyi There is no indispensable people for the death. [03/26/2019 12:03:48] More


Tamerlan Kuzgov We often call for luck, and failure comes without an invitation.

Read more: http://www.searchquotes.com/TamerlanAKuzgov/#ixzz5ikcXur1Q [03/20/2019 05:03:24] More


Eugeny Antonuk The large size of the brain has not made a single elephant the Nobel Prize. [04/19/2019 04:04:55] More


Anatoly Yurkin Lying is free public transportation in the dogmatic capital. [04/05/2019 01:04:09] More


Eugene Ryabyi Helpless envy is especially flattered. [04/19/2019 06:04:20] More