Salman Rushdie

Salman Rushdie

a British writer of Indian origin
Ahmed Salman Rushdie, the noted British novelist placed under a fatwa (death sentence) by Iran's Ayatollah Khomeini in 1989 for blasphemy in handling the character of the Prophet Mohammed in The Satanic Verses (1988), although born in Mumbai (Bombay, India) in 1947, moved with his family to Pakistan at the age of 17. He was educated at the Cathedral School, Bombay, and then at Rugby Boys' School, England, before attending King's College, Cambridge, from which he graduated with a B. A. in 1968. During his years of schooling in England, he experienced minor persecution and racist attacks. However, upon graduation he chose to remain in Britain, working as an actor and advertising copywriter before becoming a full-time writer, producing his first novel, Grimus, in 1975, in the tradition of James Joyce, Gunter Grass, and the South American "Magic Realists."Although he won a certain celebrity with his second novel, the Booker prize-winning Midnight's Children (1981), an historical novel set at the moment that India and Pakistan achieved independence from Great Britain, it was the controversial Satanic Verses that made his name a household word. Its banning in India and throughout the Muslim world led to widespread demonstrations during which copies of the novel (and effigies of the author) were burned. Rushdie was forced into hiding, moving from one safehouse to another with the assistance of the British authorities and police until 1998, when Iran officially lifted the fatwa. The individual pieces in East, West Stories (1994), including the critically-celebrated, multi-voiced "CHRISTOPHER COLUMBUS AND QUEEN ISABELLA OF SPAIN CONSUMMATE THEIR RELATIONSHIP (Santa Fe, A. D. 1492)," first published in the prestigious New Yorker Magazine. Dating from the same period are his children's book, Haroun and the Sea of Stories (1990), his book of essays, Imaginary Homelands (1991), and the novel The Moor's Last Sigh (1995).Source: scholars.nus.edu.sg
If there were Israeli attacks on Iranian nuclear facilities, it makes it certain there would be a reprisal attack against the United States at some point.More Salman Rushdie quotes [03/29/2018 05:03:36]
One of the things I know from the study of history is that history surprises you. History is not written. It's not inevitable.The victory of evil is not certain.More Salman Rushdie quotes [03/29/2018 05:03:36]
Shame is like everything else; live with it for long enough and it becomes part of the furniture.More Salman Rushdie quotes [03/29/2018 05:03:36]
Two things form the bedrock of any open society - freedom of expression and rule of law. If you don't have those things, you don't have a free country.More Salman Rushdie quotes [03/29/2018 05:03:36]
I'm definitely post-something.More Salman Rushdie quotes [03/29/2018 05:03:36]

Quotes of the month

Anatoly Yurkin The mistake performs alienation. [10/15/2019 05:10:34] More


Anatoly Yurkin Soon, street dogs will refuse hand-feeding, if your sandwich will not be the logo of the cryptocurrency Libra. (Anatoly Yurkin) [09/15/2019 12:09:33] More


Anatoly Yurkin Mistake is a development resource. [10/04/2019 07:10:52] More


Anatoly Yurkin It is difficult to find motivation to think about anything other than human participation in the circulation of digital capital. [09/17/2019 12:09:36] More


Anatoly Yurkin Infallibility is inert thinking. [10/09/2019 12:10:01] More