Salman Rushdie

Salman Rushdie

a British writer of Indian origin
Ahmed Salman Rushdie, the noted British novelist placed under a fatwa (death sentence) by Iran's Ayatollah Khomeini in 1989 for blasphemy in handling the character of the Prophet Mohammed in The Satanic Verses (1988), although born in Mumbai (Bombay, India) in 1947, moved with his family to Pakistan at the age of 17. He was educated at the Cathedral School, Bombay, and then at Rugby Boys' School, England, before attending King's College, Cambridge, from which he graduated with a B. A. in 1968. During his years of schooling in England, he experienced minor persecution and racist attacks. However, upon graduation he chose to remain in Britain, working as an actor and advertising copywriter before becoming a full-time writer, producing his first novel, Grimus, in 1975, in the tradition of James Joyce, Gunter Grass, and the South American "Magic Realists."Although he won a certain celebrity with his second novel, the Booker prize-winning Midnight's Children (1981), an historical novel set at the moment that India and Pakistan achieved independence from Great Britain, it was the controversial Satanic Verses that made his name a household word. Its banning in India and throughout the Muslim world led to widespread demonstrations during which copies of the novel (and effigies of the author) were burned. Rushdie was forced into hiding, moving from one safehouse to another with the assistance of the British authorities and police until 1998, when Iran officially lifted the fatwa. The individual pieces in East, West Stories (1994), including the critically-celebrated, multi-voiced "CHRISTOPHER COLUMBUS AND QUEEN ISABELLA OF SPAIN CONSUMMATE THEIR RELATIONSHIP (Santa Fe, A. D. 1492)," first published in the prestigious New Yorker Magazine. Dating from the same period are his children's book, Haroun and the Sea of Stories (1990), his book of essays, Imaginary Homelands (1991), and the novel The Moor's Last Sigh (1995).Source: scholars.nus.edu.sg
Science fiction is always a vehicle for ideas. It's the form which allows either movies or books to be an exploration of how we should live.More Salman Rushdie quotes [03/29/2018 05:03:36]
When you are writing a book, it feels as if you are simply concentrating on the world of the book and that whatever is happening in your personal life is outside the room, as it were. But maybe that's just the way you have to talk to yourself to make it possible.More Salman Rushdie quotes [03/29/2018 05:03:36]
The difference between memoir and autobiography, as far as I see it, is that a memoir is there primarily to tell one particular story, whereas an autobiography tries to be a full account of a life.More Salman Rushdie quotes [03/29/2018 05:03:36]
There is no such thing as perfect security, only varying levels of insecurity.More Salman Rushdie quotes [03/29/2018 05:03:36]
I learned: the first lesson of my life: nobody can face the world with his eyes open all the time.More Salman Rushdie quotes [03/29/2018 05:03:36]

Quotes of the month

Anatoly Yurkin Alienation is a function of access to being. (Anatoly Yurkin) [02/17/2020 09:02:07] More


Anatoly Yurkin Alienated thinking is platform work. (Anatoly Yurkin) [02/11/2020 04:02:40] More


Anatoly Yurkin A transaction is the tensed muscles of a digital worker. (Anatoly Yurkin) [01/30/2020 07:01:24] More


Anatoly Yurkin Platform intelligence. (Anatoly Yurkin) [02/10/2020 04:02:47] More


Anatoly Yurkin Avatar math. (Anatoly Yurkin) [02/22/2020 06:02:04] More