Salman Rushdie

Salman Rushdie

a British writer of Indian origin
Ahmed Salman Rushdie, the noted British novelist placed under a fatwa (death sentence) by Iran's Ayatollah Khomeini in 1989 for blasphemy in handling the character of the Prophet Mohammed in The Satanic Verses (1988), although born in Mumbai (Bombay, India) in 1947, moved with his family to Pakistan at the age of 17. He was educated at the Cathedral School, Bombay, and then at Rugby Boys' School, England, before attending King's College, Cambridge, from which he graduated with a B. A. in 1968. During his years of schooling in England, he experienced minor persecution and racist attacks. However, upon graduation he chose to remain in Britain, working as an actor and advertising copywriter before becoming a full-time writer, producing his first novel, Grimus, in 1975, in the tradition of James Joyce, Gunter Grass, and the South American "Magic Realists."Although he won a certain celebrity with his second novel, the Booker prize-winning Midnight's Children (1981), an historical novel set at the moment that India and Pakistan achieved independence from Great Britain, it was the controversial Satanic Verses that made his name a household word. Its banning in India and throughout the Muslim world led to widespread demonstrations during which copies of the novel (and effigies of the author) were burned. Rushdie was forced into hiding, moving from one safehouse to another with the assistance of the British authorities and police until 1998, when Iran officially lifted the fatwa. The individual pieces in East, West Stories (1994), including the critically-celebrated, multi-voiced "CHRISTOPHER COLUMBUS AND QUEEN ISABELLA OF SPAIN CONSUMMATE THEIR RELATIONSHIP (Santa Fe, A. D. 1492)," first published in the prestigious New Yorker Magazine. Dating from the same period are his children's book, Haroun and the Sea of Stories (1990), his book of essays, Imaginary Homelands (1991), and the novel The Moor's Last Sigh (1995).Source: scholars.nus.edu.sg
Life is elsewhere. Cross frontiers. Fly away.More Salman Rushdie quotes [03/29/2018 05:03:36]
Fundamentalism isn't about religion, it's about power.More Salman Rushdie quotes [03/29/2018 05:03:36]
What I've always tried to find in my books are points at which the private lives of the characters, and also my own, intersect with the public life of the culture.More Salman Rushdie quotes [03/29/2018 05:03:36]
An attack upon our ability to tell stories is not just censorship - it is a crime against our nature as human beings.More Salman Rushdie quotes [03/29/2018 05:03:36]
Is birth always a fall?More Salman Rushdie quotes [03/29/2018 05:03:36]

Quotes of the month

Anatoly Yurkin Love is an exoskeleton of pragmatism for survival among the scalable values of a digital society. (Anatoly Yurkin) [08/07/2018 10:08:32] More


Viktor Yushchenko You [the Ukrainians] are not behaving like a people that demands victory. You are already slaves. [08/14/2018 03:08:39] More


Anna Aronova Raised hands a sign of agreement with powerlessness. -AnnaIsAronova [07/24/2018 03:07:34] More


Anatoly Yurkin Kindness is an operating system available in the open source code of love. (Anatoly Yurkin) [08/04/2018 04:08:47] More


Anatoly Yurkin Wealth is measured only by the money that can make money. [08/12/2018 08:08:22] More