Salman Rushdie

Salman Rushdie

a British writer of Indian origin
Ahmed Salman Rushdie, the noted British novelist placed under a fatwa (death sentence) by Iran's Ayatollah Khomeini in 1989 for blasphemy in handling the character of the Prophet Mohammed in The Satanic Verses (1988), although born in Mumbai (Bombay, India) in 1947, moved with his family to Pakistan at the age of 17. He was educated at the Cathedral School, Bombay, and then at Rugby Boys' School, England, before attending King's College, Cambridge, from which he graduated with a B. A. in 1968. During his years of schooling in England, he experienced minor persecution and racist attacks. However, upon graduation he chose to remain in Britain, working as an actor and advertising copywriter before becoming a full-time writer, producing his first novel, Grimus, in 1975, in the tradition of James Joyce, Gunter Grass, and the South American "Magic Realists."Although he won a certain celebrity with his second novel, the Booker prize-winning Midnight's Children (1981), an historical novel set at the moment that India and Pakistan achieved independence from Great Britain, it was the controversial Satanic Verses that made his name a household word. Its banning in India and throughout the Muslim world led to widespread demonstrations during which copies of the novel (and effigies of the author) were burned. Rushdie was forced into hiding, moving from one safehouse to another with the assistance of the British authorities and police until 1998, when Iran officially lifted the fatwa. The individual pieces in East, West Stories (1994), including the critically-celebrated, multi-voiced "CHRISTOPHER COLUMBUS AND QUEEN ISABELLA OF SPAIN CONSUMMATE THEIR RELATIONSHIP (Santa Fe, A. D. 1492)," first published in the prestigious New Yorker Magazine. Dating from the same period are his children's book, Haroun and the Sea of Stories (1990), his book of essays, Imaginary Homelands (1991), and the novel The Moor's Last Sigh (1995).Source: scholars.nus.edu.sg
Live on, survive, for the earth gives forth wonders. It may swallow your heart, but the wonders keep on coming. You stand before them bareheaded, shriven. What is expected of you is attention.More Salman Rushdie quotes [03/29/2018 05:03:36]
Look at history. It's not the account of a species at peace.More Salman Rushdie quotes [03/29/2018 05:03:36]
People must be protected from prejudice against their person. But people cannot be protected from prejudice against their ideas - because otherwise we're all done.More Salman Rushdie quotes [03/29/2018 05:03:36]
I was very happy in Bombay. I was good at school. There was no reason to change anything. I suppose it must have been some spirit of adventure, of wanting to see the world.More Salman Rushdie quotes [03/29/2018 05:03:36]
Literature is where I go to explore the highest and lowest places in human society and in the human spirit, where I hope to find not absolute truth but the truth of the tale, of the imagination and of the heart.More Salman Rushdie quotes [03/29/2018 05:03:36]

Quotes of the month

Eugeny Antonuk You can not always be right, otherwise, unilaterally changing the rules of the game. It is foolish to believe that you adhere to the rules, coming up with exceptions to the rules. [01/22/2019 11:01:34] More


Eugeny Antonuk An example is much more durable than a result, if an example is for all, and the result is one. [01/22/2019 12:01:44] More


Aleksandr Avanov Οίδα με ουδεν είδεναί [01/25/2019 03:01:01] More


Eugene Ryabyi The bad taste prevents people from Knowing life in all its glory. [01/24/2019 07:01:04] More


Eugeny Antonuk In his youth, a man is an immature lemon, and in old age he is a squeezed lemon, because he gradually loses much of what he considered important in his personality. Little experience in his youth, consider that he has already lost it in his old age. [01/22/2019 10:01:19] More