Salman Rushdie

Salman Rushdie

a British writer of Indian origin
Ahmed Salman Rushdie, the noted British novelist placed under a fatwa (death sentence) by Iran's Ayatollah Khomeini in 1989 for blasphemy in handling the character of the Prophet Mohammed in The Satanic Verses (1988), although born in Mumbai (Bombay, India) in 1947, moved with his family to Pakistan at the age of 17. He was educated at the Cathedral School, Bombay, and then at Rugby Boys' School, England, before attending King's College, Cambridge, from which he graduated with a B. A. in 1968. During his years of schooling in England, he experienced minor persecution and racist attacks. However, upon graduation he chose to remain in Britain, working as an actor and advertising copywriter before becoming a full-time writer, producing his first novel, Grimus, in 1975, in the tradition of James Joyce, Gunter Grass, and the South American "Magic Realists."Although he won a certain celebrity with his second novel, the Booker prize-winning Midnight's Children (1981), an historical novel set at the moment that India and Pakistan achieved independence from Great Britain, it was the controversial Satanic Verses that made his name a household word. Its banning in India and throughout the Muslim world led to widespread demonstrations during which copies of the novel (and effigies of the author) were burned. Rushdie was forced into hiding, moving from one safehouse to another with the assistance of the British authorities and police until 1998, when Iran officially lifted the fatwa. The individual pieces in East, West Stories (1994), including the critically-celebrated, multi-voiced "CHRISTOPHER COLUMBUS AND QUEEN ISABELLA OF SPAIN CONSUMMATE THEIR RELATIONSHIP (Santa Fe, A. D. 1492)," first published in the prestigious New Yorker Magazine. Dating from the same period are his children's book, Haroun and the Sea of Stories (1990), his book of essays, Imaginary Homelands (1991), and the novel The Moor's Last Sigh (1995).Source: scholars.nus.edu.sg
I fell victim to the temptation of every autobiographer, to the illusion that since the past exists only in one's memories and the words which strive vainly to encapsulate them, it is possible to create past events simply by saying they occurred.More Salman Rushdie quotes [03/29/2018 05:03:36]
Be sure that you go to the author to get at his meaning, not to find yours.More Salman Rushdie quotes [03/29/2018 05:03:36]
Religion, a mediaeval form of unreason, when combined with modern weaponry becomes a real threat to our freedoms. This religious totalitarianism has caused a deadly mutation in the heart of Islam and we see the tragic consequences in Paris today. I stand with Charlie Hebdo, as we all must, to defend the art of satire, which has always been a force for liberty and against tyranny, dishonesty and stupidity. 'Respect for religion' has become a code phrase meaning 'fear of religion.' Religions, like all other ideas, deservMore Salman Rushdie quotes [03/29/2018 05:03:36]
If you actually want to change your world, there is a better way of doing it than blowing yourself up.More Salman Rushdie quotes [03/12/2018 02:03:32]
A mature society understands that at the heart of democracy is argument.More Salman Rushdie quotes [03/29/2018 05:03:36]

Quotes of the month

Anatoly Yurkin Both the object and the subject are composed of repetitions. [06/07/2019 01:06:16] More


Eugene Ryabyi Love is a primus for defrosting ice hearts. [06/09/2019 09:06:00] More


Eugene Ryabyi The most insidious plan is always covered with a veil of virtue. [06/04/2019 01:06:39] More


Eugene Ryabyi Money is a measure of human inequality. [06/14/2019 04:06:23] More


Eugeny Antonuk Ukraine has the right to the Ukrainian character of the state, just as Russia adopted the law on the voluntary study of Tatar, and Israel adopted a law on the voluntary study of the Arabic language and the Jewish character of the Israeli state. [05/21/2019 08:05:26] More